JACOB JOLLEY drove a calculated race to win the annual Wingless Sprintcar Grand Prix 50 lapper at Castrol Edge Lismore Speedway, Saturday night, November 14.

Jolley was in complete control and established a commanding lead in the latter half of the race as he led minor placegetters David Eggins and Brody Tomsen to the chequered flag.

It was a very good night for Jolley who earlier recorded two heat victories to completely dominate the Wingless events.

However, it was Trent Martin who looked a possible GP winner in the initial part of the main event after he raced to the lead.

Jolley was in hot pursuit while further back Robbie Mazzer made good progress as the laps unfolded and was right on Eggins' tail near the head of the field.

Jolley kept up the pressure on Martin who put down the fastest lap of the GP when he clocked 14.978 seconds for a speed of 96.141 km/h.

With twenty laps remaining Mick Reid came to a halt and brought on the yellow lights. Martin led away on the green before he later drifted high as Jolley took full advantage of the gap and raced through to the lead. Eggins and Tomsen then commanded spots in the top three as Martin later fell out of contention and ultimately finished eighth.

Several positions also changed further back as Mazzer got under Scott Thomsen and Brock Gardener overtook Tim Harris in battles for the latter half of the top ten finishing positions.

But at the chequered flag it was Jolley's race. Jolley has had a good start to the season and this win followed up his strong feature race victory at the season opener on October 17.

Other Wingless GP heat winners were: David Eggins, Harris, Gardener and Martin.

Promoter David Lander presented a variety programme for the restricted number of patrons allowed into the venue under Covid-19 regulations.

Other main event victors were: Steve Price (AMCAs); Klinton Hancey (Mod Lites); Matthew Layton (Production Sedans); Brock Armstrong (RSA Four Cylinder Sedans); Brodie King (SSA Four Cylinder Sedans) and Luke Gray (Street Stocks).

Caption: Wingless Sprintcar GP winner Jacob Jolley (centre) is surrounded by runner-up David Eggins (left) and third-placed Brody Tomsen. Photo: Tony Powell.