Sean Black continued his winning run in the McCosker Super Sedan Series when he took out round 11 of the championship at Castrol Edge Lismore Speedway, Saturday night, February 19.

Black was followed to the chequered flag in the 30 lap main event by Michael Hally and Steve Jordan.

Black set a blistering pace at the head of the field with his best lap recorded at 14.385 seconds for a speed of 100.104km/h.

He hauled into Lismore on the back of a win in the previous round of the McCosker Super Sedan Series at Gympie Speedway on February 5.

Mitchell Gee was the early Lismore feature race leader from Black with Tania Smith running strongly in third in the early stages. Hayden Brims was on the trail of Trent Wilson as Mick Nicola overtook Josh McClaren and ran in eighth position in the early lap heavy traffic.

Matt Pascoe, who was using a crate motor, started well back in the field but made strong progress into the top ten as the race unfolded.

The two Brims brothers, Hayden and Zac, were having their own family battle as Zac pressed his brother in traffic. Justin Randall caught up to Smith and then Hally overtook Tania as position changes continued.

Then Michael Taylor brought on a yellow light after he spun with 16 laps to go.

At the re-start, Gee once again led the field away as Randall passed Black for second. Pascoe was right on the tail of Hayden Brims as Steve Jordan passed Smith for third place. Randall then quit the event as his machine went off the pace before Gee tangled with a lapped car driven by John Sheehan which brought on the yellow lights with two laps remaining.

An unimpressed Gee was deemed the cause of the incident by officials and started rear of field for the restart.

The battle in the final two laps was between Jordan and Pascoe for third as Jordan held on at the chequered flag for a spot on the podium.

It was a big drive into fifth placing by Tania Smith whose car broke a header and the engine struggled for power.

Earlier in the night her locally built Danny Smith Rocket factory car was right on the pace after she recorded a blistering 13.4 second lap which was under the track record.

The main event top ten were rounded out by David Musch, Hayden Brims, Zac Brims, Mick Nicola and Trent Wilson.

The fastest recorded lap of the 30 lap main event was put down by Mitchell Gee when he stopped the clock at mid distance at 14.264 seconds and a speed reading of 100.953 km/h. Matt Pascoe's son, Zac Pascoe, rolled his car in the earlier heats and withdrew for the rest of the night.

Super Sedans heats were taken out by: Jordan, Hally, Smith, Zac Brims, Matt Pascoe and Wilson.

Other main event winners were: Paul Reeves (AMCAs), Jacob Waller (Juniors), Jordan Biviano (Production Sedans), Jacob Jolley (Wingless Sprintcars) and Brock Armstrong (Street Stocks).

Six track records of all categories were broken during the course of the meeting. (STORY BY DENNIS NEWLYN).

Caption: McCosker Super Sedan Series round 11 winner Sean Black (centre) is flanked by main runner-up Michael Hally (left) and third-placed Steve Jordan. Photo: Tony Powell.