An entry list upward of thirty cars is expected to nominate for the V8 Dirt Modified Lord Mayor's Cup season opener at Castrol Edge Lismore Speedway on Saturday,  November 2.

NSW V8 Dirt Modified Club representative Ben Griffin says he is anticipating a strong line-up.

“As we speak today (Wednesday, October 23) entries are still open, so it's impossible to estimate a final number, but I'm sure it will be a good field that takes the flag for the main event.”

Many of the heavy hitters are set to turn a wheel in the race that has become an annual event since current promoter David Lander took over running the Lismore venue at the start of the 2007-2008 season.

Some of the drivers expected to be included in the final list of Lismore nominations are taking an advantage of a tune up the week prior to the annual V8 Dirt Modified Lord Mayor's Cup, having entered for a race meeting at Sydney's Valvoline Raceway on October 26.

“The V8 Dirt Modified Lord Mayor's Cup has always attracted a very good entry list since its inception in my first season. I am not expecting anything different for the 2019 event,” promoter David Lander said.

National Champions Mark Robinson, Scott Cannon and Jai Stephenson are expected to be among the starters.

Dalby's Terry Leerentveld is a confirmed starter, as is Todd Hodgson, wheeling a former Tim Morse chassis car and Tim Luscombe.

Luscombe, who will race a Troyer V8 Dirt Modified, purchased the entire race inventory off the retired Ray Claridge and is quietly confident he will put down some very competitive, fast laps around the testing Lismore Showground bull ring.

It sets the scene for an impressive opening night as Castrol Edge Lismore Speedway enters its fifty-first consecutive season of racing at the historic ground.

A mammoth seven racing categories will welcome in the 2019-2020 season Saturday night, November 2.

The V8 Dirt Modified Lord Mayor's Cup will be supported with racing for AMCA Nationals, Wingless Sprints, Production Sedans, Junior Sedans, Street Stocks and National Four Cylinder Sedans.