JACOB Jolley won himself a return air ticket to America after he took out the 30-lap Wingless Sprintcar main event at Castrol Edge Lismore Speedway Saturday night, April 27.

Jolley, who started from pole position, never put a wheel out of place as he greeted the chequered flag first and wrapped up the Lismore Workers' Club – Wingless Sprintcar Driver to America series.

Second man home in the feature race was David Eggins while Bradley Claridge filled third.

Jolley overcame restarts and staved off the opposition in a fitting result after dominating the point standings, particularly in the latter half of the 2018-19 season.

“I had to concentrate throughout the race with plenty on the line and I'd like to thank my crew, sponsors and all the people who have helped me throughout the season to win this series,” a delighted Jolley said in victory lane.

The Lismore Nissan-sponsored driver never put a wheel out of place after he got his night off to the perfect start with a win in the opening heat.

Right from the outset of the title decider, Jolley raced to the lead and in the early laps the battles for positions further back in the field unfolded as Michael Butcher held second position with Claridge, Ben Hull and Jamie Usher also in contention.

The first red light of the race occurred after just three recorded laps when Hull and Usher came together before Hull copped the worst of the incident which required a red light race stoppage.

At the restart Jolley again held command prior to a crash involving Casey O'Connell which brought on another red light after 11 laps.

At the green, Jolley kept his spot at the head of the field, while Claridge in second was followed by a hard charging David Eggins. Further back Warren King made a passing move under Matt Wright and moved into sixth position.

As the race entered the latter stages Eggins closed the gap on Claridge and took over second position as he chased Jolley to the chequered flag.

Third placed Claridge was followed by Mitchell Haynes, Michael Butcher, Warren King, Corey O'Toole, Matthew Wright, James Barton and Mick Reid who rounded out the top ten.

Haynes, who put down the fastest lap time (14.113 seconds) for a speed of 102.034 km/h in the 30-lap feature race, dominated the heats with three wins. In addition to Jolley, Claridge and Eggins also were heat winners.

Other main event victors were: Thomas Vickery (AMCAs) who broke the 1 lap and 8 lap records, Josh Boyd (Junior Sedans) who broke the 1 lap record, Nathan Gordon (Production Sedans) and Luke Grey (Street Stocks).

Attention now turns to next Saturday night at Castrol Edge Lismore Speedway when the Australian Demolition Derby Championship will be the highlight - DENNIS NEWLYN.


Caption: Driver to America series winner Jacob Jolley (centre) is flanked by runner-up David Eggins (left) and third-placed Brad Claridge. Also pictured is trophy girl Bronte Jordan. Photo: Tony Powell.