Marcus Dumesny raced to an impressive victory in the Lismore round of the 2021-2022 season NSW/Queensland Sprintcar States Series at Castrol Edge Lismore Speedway, Wednesday night January 12.

Dumesny was followed across the finish line in the 30-lap feature by Lachlan McHugh and Luke Oldfield for the top-three podium.

Highlight of the main event was the exciting battle for the lead between Dumesny and McHugh. McHugh was credited with the fastest lap of the race when he recorded 13.146 seconds for a speed of 109.539 km/h as he chased Dumesny in the latter stages.

Leigh Holman's race didn't last any further than a lap after he crashed between turns one and two, necessitating a restart to the feature race.

Luke Oldfield grabbed the front running at the commencement and looked impressive early.

Meanwhile in the early stages Jock Goodyer and American World of Outlaws star Carson Macedo were battling for a spot in the top three.

This is when the race went up a gear after Marcus Dumesny quickly moved into contention. Meanwhile McHugh, who earlier ran closely with Macedo, was right on Oldfield's tail and later reached the lead.

Marcus Dumesny was not far behind and after passing Oldfield was right with McHugh. The race had developed into a close battle at the front of the field as Marcus Dumesny made a move under McHugh for the lead. But McHugh came back strongly and actually regained the front running before Dumesny returned serve and took over leadership again. Macedo remained in fourth spot however Ryan Newton, Brock Hallet and Aaron Kelly were also running closely further back within the top eight positions.

Despite plenty of pressure from McHugh, Marcus Dumesny stuck to his line and handled the tight confines of the Lismore Showground bull ring circuit superbly. He took the chequered flag a very impressive winner, though McHugh also deserved plenty of praise for his runner-up result. Oldfield also did well and maintained his third spot to the chequered flag. The top ten were rounded out by Macedo, Goodyer, Newton, Hallett, Kelly, Matt Dumesny and Mick Sauer.

Goodyer had a fine night after earlier winning both the bronze and silver shoot-out events before Oldfield was victor of the final gold shoot-out. Goodyer also was fastest against the clock time trials and put down a 12.230 second lap for a speed of 117.743 km/h.

Heats were taken out by Ian Madsen, Newton, Macedo and Kelly.

Other main event winners were: Matthew Layton (Production Sedans), Jacob Lesha (Street Stocks), Zac Brims (Junior Sedans) and Jacob Jolley (Wingless Sprintcars).


Caption: Featuer race winner Marcus Dumesny is pictured with main event runner-up Lachlan McHugh and third-placed Luke Oldfield. Photo: Tony Powell.