ANDREW Pezzutti headed a depleted field to the chequered flag when he took out the 30-lap V8 Dirt Modified feature race at Castrol Edge Lismore Speedway Saturday night (February 29).

Pezzutti was followed to the chequered flag by Tony Dunn and Phil McNamara as the only drivers on the same lap at the completion of the journey.

There were only two other finishers – Mark Connolly and Ray Eggins in fourth and fifth positions respectively.  Eggins drove a restricted class engine "Sportsman" car in the event.

Mitch Randall, who took out the Dash to earn his up-front starting position, led away. After an initial battle with Chris Polsen, Randall established a comfortable lead. With five laps completed, Marley Weller brought on a yellow light and pulled to the infield after a ruptured fuel line from the tank caused a leak. Randall later was involved in a stoppage after a front suspension component broke on his car, giving the lead to Polsen.

Pezzutti also was right there in contention when the race resumed and later made an inside pass on Polsen for the front running before Polsen later withdrew with a flat tyre after 12 laps of the race. Polsen was credited with the fastest lap time of the event, billed as “The Scramble”, when he stopped the timer at 13.639 seconds for a recorded speed of 105.58 km/h.

Pezzutti's quickest lap soon after he took over the lead was 13.786 seconds (104.454 km/h). Once in front, Pezzutti held command and was never headed in the run to the finish.

Meanwhile heat wins went to Randall, Brent Hall, Polsen and Pezzutti.

Interest in the Junior Sedan category again centred on the battle in points between Brock Youngberry and Ryley Smith. The two drivers are locked in an an intense tussle for honours in the season-long Lismore Track Championship and they again figured in a main event result after Youngberry took the win over Smith, while Josh Weir was third.

Other feature race winners were: Matt Gordon (Legend Cars), Lindsay Clapham (Production Sedans), Nathan Deuchar (Nationals 4s) and Brock Armstrong (Street Stocks).

Interesting statistic to come out of the meeting was the overall points recorded by drivers from the V8 Dirt Modified events. Pezzutti, Randall and Polsen all finished level on 97 points which does not change the standings as Randall and Pezzutti head the V8 Dirt 2019-2020 season Track Championship ladder.

Next meeting at Castrol Edge Lismore Speedway will be Saturday night, March 14 highlighted with the running of the RSA Australian Junior Sedan Championship and the Production Sedan East Coast Grand National.

Caption: V8 Dirt Modified feature race placegetters are from left to right: Tony Dunn (runner-up), Andrew Pezzutti (winner), third-placed Phil McNamara and “Sportsman” class driver Ray Eggins. Photo; Tony Powell.

Caption: Mark Connolly (#84) and Marley Weller turn on the action. Photo: Tony Powell.