MITCH Randall completely dominated this season's Mr Modified series after he took out the deciding round at Castrol Edge Lismore Speedway, Saturday night, April 24.

Randall made a clean sweep of the annual V8 Dirt Modified tournament after he won the opening round on Boxing Day. It was a similar story in the decider as the all conquering Randall led Matt Pascoe and Mark Robinson to the chequered flag in the 40-lap grand final.

Randall's 382 point overall total left him18 points clear of series runner-up Mark Robinson, who was a third placegetter in the opening round, while Trent Scofield (278 points) was third in the series final point standings.

But Randall was the man of the moment after he gave a start to Pascoe in the final and ran him down for the win. For the early part of the race Pascoe set a cracking pace and clocked the fastest lap and speed of the event when he recorded a 13.448-second lap at 107.079 km/h.

“Everything worked for us tonight and I have to thank my crew and sponsors for the series win,” Randall said after receiving the winner's trophy.

Randall served notice of what was to come after he took out the opening heat. In the early stages of the main event Geoff Phillips ran in contention behind Pascoe as Robinson and Randall followed. Despite a yellow light after a spin by Phil McNamara eight laps into the event, Pascoe continued to lead.

But Randall was on a mission and when he moved into second position, the chase was on and he snared the lead in the latter part of the event for a very impressive series win.

Other heat winners were Robinson and Geoff Phillips.

Pascoe scored a strong win in the six-lap Dash.

Tasmanian Champion Daniel Brooks led from start to finish to win the AMCA Nationals Northern Rivers Classic.

With Brooks a clear leader, main interest in the 20-lap feature race focused on the battle for the runner-up spot between ultimate second placegetter Shane Newstead and third placed Matt Hardy.

Hardy had the advantage at one stage before Newstead finally secured second.

The other event that captured plenty of interest was the Wingless Sprintcar feature race which decided the track championship honours for the 2020-2021 season.

Only 15 points separated championship leader Jacob Jolley and Trent Martin in the battle for honours and it went right down to the chequered after Jolley finished runner-up in the feature race (won by Seiton Young, with Robbie Mazzer third), while Martin finished fourth. Jolley and Martin were both heat winners while Young won the other heat.

Other main event winners were: Zac Brims (Junior Sedans), Jordan Biviano (Production Sedans), Matt Weir (Four Cylinder Sedans), Kevin Healey (Stock Rods).


Caption: Mitch Randall (centre) is surrounded by runner-up Matt Pascoe and third placed Mark Robinson. Also pictured (extreme left) is Sportsman driver Taylah Firth (extremel left). Photo: Tony Powell.