MITCH RANDALL stole the show and emerged unbeaten throughout the night, culminating with his victory in the 2020 V8 Dirt Modified Lord Mayor's Cup at Castrol Edge Lismore Speedway, Saturday, October 31.

Randall earlier won a heat and then followed up with victory in the Dash. He put down his fastest lap of the meeting with his win in the heat when he recorded a time of 13.206 second for a speed of 109.041 km/h.

Randall completely dominated the 30-lap main event and led from the outset after he started off the front row while Dale Corbett filled the runner-up position and Tim Luscombe was third. (My Laps results).

With Randall out front, major interest was the battle for the minor placings as the Lord Mayor's Cup unfolded. Josh Rose made his bid to reach the top three after he passed ultimate sixth placegetter David Clark then moved up to fourth and honed in on Luscombe. He continued his charge but the laps ran out for Rose who finally settled for a fast-finishing fourth placing.

First casualty of the feature was Marley Welley who was forced out after four laps with a leaking fuel problem which forced a yellow light.

It was not a good night for former Cup winner Andrew Pezzutti who earlier bicycled his car in a heat and rolled with severe damage to the Modified. Pezzutti escaped unscathed from the crash.

Another driver who had a tough night was Wingless Sprintcar competitor Declan Brownsy who crashed heavily in the main event, won by Robbie Mazzer from Jamie Usher and Trent Martin.

Declan, who made the trip from Brisbane after Archerfield Speedway was washed out, was later transported to hospital for observation after complaining of back pain.

Mazzer avoided some carnage when several cars were sidelined early in the feature race. It was a strong drive by Mazzer who always held control of the race.

The Santin family continues to dominate Junior Sedan racing at Lismore after Jaiden took out the feature from Zac Brimms and Sophie Santin, the latter also the winner for the New Star category in Junior Sedans.

Other feature race winners at the COVID-19 restricted meeting were Darren Miller (AMCA), Nathan Deuchar (Four Cylinder Sedans), Chris Besseling (Production Sedans) and Luke Gray (Street Stocks).

The official opening of the 2020-21 season at Castrol Edge Lismore Speedway was conducted by City of Lismore Mayor Isaac Smith.

Caption: Lord Mayor's Cup winner Mitch Randall shares his victory with third placegetter Tim Luscombe. Photo: Tony Powell.