IT WAS a very different start to the season at Castrol Edge Lismore Speedway, Saturday night, October 17.

In a year that is not like anything we have previously experienced because of the COVID-19 Coronavirus pandemic, it was a race meeting conducted literally behind closed doors.

With crowd restrictions in place and a maximum of 500 allowed, it was a season beginning we've never seen before in the long and illustrious history of the venue as the lights were turned on for the commencement of the 2020-21 season.

The fixture was run with general public admission gates closed.

“We had no other option but to abide by the crowd restriction orders,” promoter David Lander said.

“We are all going through the same set of circumstances, but at least we were able to get cars on the track and racing conducted.”

V8 Dirt Modifieds, Wingless Sprints, Junior Sedans, Four Cylinder Sedans, Street Stocks and Production Sedans were featured.

Mitch Randall dominated the V8 Dirt Modified main event and recorded a strong feature race win over David Clarke and Andrew Pezzutti.

Interest focused on the dice for third as Josh Rose battled with Pezzutti while Randall held a comfortable lead. Clarke made up some headway toward the end of the race, but Randall was never seriously challenged in the run to the chequered flag.

Jacob Jolley was the best in the Wingless Sprintcar class and took out the main event over Jamie Usher and Mark Blyton.

Blyton got the jump on Jolley at the start before Jolley later took over the front running. Usher also made a good race of it as he staked his claim for the lead and at one point looked a possible winner before Jolley stormed back into the front running for the win.

The Junior Sedans again provided good racing as the youngsters impressed. Zac Brims won the All Stars Junior main event from Jaiden Santin and Sophie Santin.

Sophie was the “New Stars” winner on the night.

Other main event winners were: Nick Chilcott (Production Sedans), Adam Grill (Street Stocks) while James Lee took out two of the three Four Cylinder Sedan heats. Nathan Deutcher was the other heat winner.

Photo caption: Jacob Jolley. Photo: Tony Powell.