THREE times Australian Champion Mark Robinson raced to a comfortable victory in the season opening V8 Dirt Modified Lord Mayor's Cup at Castrol Edge Lismore Speedway Saturday night, November 2.

Robinson, who started from the pole position, was never headed as he took the chequered flag well clear of runner-up Chris Polsen and third-placed Josh Rose.

Robinson raced straight to the lead at the show of the green light and maintained a solid pace throughout. A few stoppages marred the running of the traditional trophy race which was watched by City of Lismore Mayor Isaac Smith who officially opened the 2019-2020 season.

The biggest crash involved Brayd Stephenson and Paul Booker. Booker was caught in no man's land and rolled his car against the fence after Stephenson spun. Booker however escaped unscathed and walked unaided from the crash scene.

“We had a good car all night,” Robinson told the big crowd in attendance after he accepted the winner's Cup.

“We did not change anything much through the night's racing and the car ran perfectly. There's a lot involved getting the car ready and I'd also like to thank my crew who gave me a very good car.”

Due to time restraints, the original 30-lap distance was considerably reduced in order to meet the strict time curfew.

Robinson had the perfect set-up for the good track conidtions and continually hiked the inside front wheel high into the air as he ran the pole line during the event.

Robinson moved away from the opposition and the main interest then focused on the battle for the minor placings between Polsen, Rose, Zac McDonald and Ray Eggins.

But there was nobody who could catch the triple national titleholder and he never put a wheel out of place in his run to the chequered flag.

Earlier in the night Robinson recorded a heat win and that set the scene for what followed in the main event. The first restricted engine “Sportsman” car home in the main event was driven by Tony Dunn who placed sixth.

One of the best races of the night was the Junior Sedan 15-lap feature race.

The battle for the lead kept the fans entertained as it changed several times between ultimate winner Ryley Smith and second-placed Connor Reeves.

The enthralling contest heightened in intensity when lapped cars came into play as the two front runners swapped the lead. Not too far behind was third placegetter Sam Mooney. The Junior Sedans had a strong entry list Saturday night and if that's the standard of competition the categorie provides first night out, the class will be set for an exciting season.

Other main event winners were Tony Blanch (AMCAs), Michael Butcher (Wingless Sprints), Luke Grey (Street Stocks), Jordan Biviano (Production Sedans) and Brodie King (National Four Cylinder Sedans).

Promoter David Lander was very pleased with the action the seven divisions provided and says this was reflected by the mammoth 103 entries across the seven categories programmed for the first fixture of the 2019-2020 season.

Next meeting at Castrol Edge Lismore Speedway will be November 16, highlighted with the running of the 100-lap Australian Wingless Sprintcar Grand Prix, plus support categories.


Caption: Lord Mayor's Cup winner Mark Robinson hikes the inside front wheel. Photo: Tony Powell.

The top three in the 2019 Lord Mayor's Cup. From left to right: Runner-up Chris Pulson, winner Mark Robinson and third-placed Josh Rose.