THREE STATE CHAMPIONS and a former Australian titleholder have entered for this Saturday night's April 24 running of the AMCA Nationals' annual Northern Rivers Classic at Castrol Edge Lismore Speedway.

The event, along with the grand final of the Mr Modified series, will bring down the curtain on another season at the long running venue.

There also will be racing for Wingless Sprintcars, Production Sedans, Street Stocks, Junior Sedans and RSA Four Cylinder Sedans with their respective track championships for the 2020-2021 season to be decided.

“There is plenty on the line at the season finale,” promoter David Lander said.

“The annual AMCA Northern Rivers Classic has attracted some good entries, while all of the top guns in line for honours in the Mr Modified V8 Dirt Modified series also have entered in what will be a strong final meeting of the season,” he added.

The defending Northern Rivers Classic titleholder Shane Newstead can expect some tough opposition from previous Australian Champion (and also Victorian titleholder) Matt Hardy, Tasmanian number one Daniel Brooks and Queensland Champ Tony Blanch who enters also as a former NSW titleholder.

A series of heats will be run before the Northern Rivers Classic final is contested over 20 laps.

It's interesting to note the top three from the 2019-2020 season Northern Rivers Classic, run on the 2020 Australia Day January 26 and 27 weekend fixture as a two-day event, have entered for the 2021 Classic.

Newstead will be joined by previous runner-up Steve Price and third-placed Thomas Vickery who was then the defending Classic trophy winner.

Fourth placed in 2020 Graham Holland also will race in this season's event.

Meanwhile, Mitch Randall leads on points going into the final of the Mr Modified series, though Andrew Pezzutti and Mark Robinson, placegetters in the December 26 opening round, can still win the series.

It's a battle between Jacob Jolley and Trent Martin for the Wingless Sprintcar season Lismore Track Championship with only 15 points between the duo at the top of the standings.

Jacob Waller and Jaiden and Sophie Santin are the top contenders in the Junior Sedan division.

Darren Miller and Paul Reeves (AMCAs); Adam Grill and Wayne Arthur (Street Stocks); Matthew Layton and Jordan Biviano Production Sedans) are the top drivers in their division's standings entering Saturday night's title showdown. The points are close enough to ensure it's all on the line April 24.

Gates open at 4PM and racing starts at 5:30PM.

For more information on the season finale phone the Lismore Speedway office during business hours  on 66212733.