A VERY IMPRESSIVE entry list has been retained for the re-scheduled round ten of the McCosker Super Sedan Series at Castrol Edge Lismore Speedway, Saturday night, February 27

Incessant heavy rain late last week and into the weekend forced promoter David Lander to postpone the much anticipated Super Sedan show seven days.

“The non-stop rain did some damage and by Friday morning we were in trouble. I admit it was an early call Friday to postpone the meeting but I had to do that in the best interest of everyone involved.

“Yes, we might have been, at a remote chance, able to run but the track would have been unsuitable and only suitable for motocross bikes which would have been unfair to the drivers facing such a potentially rough track and it would also have lacked proper racing entertainment for our loyal fans,” Lander explained.

The nominations are again headed by multi Super Sedan and Late Model National Champion Darren Kane, three times Australian Super Sedan titleholder Matt Pascoe, triple National Champion Mick Nicola (Victoria), two times National Super Sedan Series winner Wayne Randall and last start McCosker series round victor Sam Roza.

Steve Jordan, Ian and Hayden Brims, Tania Smith and Trent Wilson are also among the drivers who will contest the round next weekend, culminating with a 30-lap feature race.

As of Monday morning, twenty nominations were received by the Lismore Speedway office.

Round ten will be a very special occasion for Ian Brims who last week officially announced his retirement from over three decades of racing.

There has been a change to the support divisions on the Lismore card for this coming Saturday night (February 27).

The AMCA Nationals are not available and have been replaced by Four Cylinder Sedans. The rest of the support categories – Wingless Sprintcars, Production Sedans, Street Stocks and Junior Sedans – remain as per the original (February 20) programme.

Gates open 4PM. Prior to the meeting commencement a grand parade of Super Sedans will be held followed by hot laps. Racing will start at 5:15pm.


Caption: It will be a special night for Ian Brims who will retire after the meeting. Photo: Tony Powell.