Two significant events - World Series Sprintcars Championship round and the Australian Speedcar Grand Prix – are stand outs on a very attractive 2020/21 season calendar at Castrol Edge Lismore Speedway.

Both offer potentially high quality international class fields and both are special to Lismore.

WSS will be decided on January 12, 2021, while the AGP is set down for March 20.

The return of World Series Sprintcars in January this year to the Lismore venue, which was one of the original founding tracks when the WSS was inaugurated in 1987, has not been lost in the long and illustrious history of the championship.

Lismore was a regular stop-over point on the WSS trail in the early years and continued its involvement in following decades. However, it had been several seasons since the series last appeared at the Lismore Showground Speedway bull ring.

Fans embraced its return in 2020 and that enthusiasm continues in the countdown to next season, when hopefully the world will be returning to normality in the wake of the Corona Virus pandemic.

“I was very pleased with the World Series show in January and when the opportunity was again presented to hold another round next January, I was happy to again be a host venue.

“The return of World Series next season is matched with the running of the 2021 Australian Speedcar Grand Prix. When that came up for offer, I wanted it also back at our track,” Lander said.

The time honoured Speedcar event, which is one of the oldest in the world, made its Lismore debut in 2019 before it was run last season at Sydney's Valvoline Raceway.

The race has been held at a number of different venues over the decades. The AGP carries enormous clout on the world Speedcar racing scene and, since its first running in 1938, has been won by a who's who of international Speedcar racing.

Some of the best drivers produced in Australian and American Speedcar racing have their name engraved on the perpetual shield.

Four times legendary Indianapolis 500 winner AJ Foyt, Steve Kinser, Bob Tattersall, Ron Tripp and Lealand McSpadden are among the high profile Americans who have won the AGP.

The list of Australian winners is equally impressive, with the great Dusty Heroes from the halcyon days of yesteryear, Ray Revell, Andy McGavin, Jeff Freeman, Johnny Stewart and Len Brock winners.

Ten times Australian Sprintcar Champion Garry Rush is a two times victor, while super showman George Tatnell, as well as Ron Mackay, Barry Pinchbeck, Ron Hutchinson and more recent decade stars Darren Jenkins, Troy Jenkins, Matt Smith, Reid Mackay (whose grand father is 1971 winner Ron Mackay) and record-setting six times winner Mark Brown are on the AGP roll of honour.

Super Sedans also return to Lismore next season and will make an appearance on February 20. Stay tuned for more news on their night as it comes to hand.

The Castrol Edge Lismore Speedway season is scheduled to commence on Saturday, October 31 with the annual running of the V8 Dirt Modified Lord Mayor's Cup.

V8 Dirt Modifieds, Wingless Sprintcars, Production Sedans, and all the other regular categories including AMCAs, Junior Sedans, Four Cylinder Sedans and Street Stocks are included on the upcoming season calendar – DENNIS NEWLYN